Best of 2012

Best Marvel: I had a hard time deciding on this one, Marvel has done a lot over the last year. The Marvel Now project is moving right a long and people are certainly more happy about it than the DC reboot. Avengers versus X-Men was another major cross-over with some major consequences for the Marvel Universe. That being said, I’m choosing Amazing Spider-Man 700. Controversial? Yes. Are fans angry? Some are. But I think the series ended in a respectful, surprising, and interesting way. I look forward to the Superior Spider-Man, debuting on January 9th. If you haven’t read it yet, go pick up a copy, and keep an open mind. If you have read it, please stop sending death threats to Dan Slott.

Best DC: I haven’t been a major fan of the New 52. I’ll admit, I complain about it a lot.  DC has been running so many crossover events with the New 52 that you virtually have to spend you’re whole paycheck every week just to keep up with your favorite series. That being said, I’ve picked up a few number ones recently, and I was a bit surprised. I’ve never been a huge fan of the Flash, but Barry Allen is written in a creative and compelling way. the new Flash series is definitely the best DC series that I’ve picked up in the last few months. This is, of course, from someone who doesn’t have a lot of history with the character, so take it with a grain of salt.

Best Other: Masks. Hands down. The Dynamite series is amazing. I was pumped for this series before it came out, mostly because I’m a huge Alex Ross fan. His art is on a level that no one else can reach. Masks brings together all the classic pulp and radio heroes: The Shadow, The Green Hornet, Zorro, The Black Bat, and many others. It’s a great old style series to get excited for, and the realism of Alex Ross’s art takes the whole thing to the next level. Masks is my favorite series of 2012.

Best Animation: The Dark Knight Returns part 1. As a fan of the Frank Miller series, I have to say that the animated film brings the comic to life in a very faithful way. I look forward to part two, which I imagine will be an adaptation of The Dark Knight Strikes Again. Watch the movies, read the graphic novel, and see Batman at his Batman-iest.

Best Live Action: The Dark Knight Rises left a lot to be desired as the conclusion to Nolan’s otherwise amazing trilogy. However, that means I’m looking forward to the reboot all the more. Nolan gave us the Batman that the fans needed, not the one we deserved. Unfortunately, there were just too many problems for me to choose The Dark Knight Rises as my live action film of 2012. The Avengers wins this category. Its hard to compete with a film that is this technically perfect. On top of the amazing cast, The Avengers had a great script, great special effects, and a multi-movie build-up that made the film far above top notch. The Avengers made me proud to be a comic fan.

Best Advancement in Comics: Marvel wins this category. I’m sure DC is hard at work on something worth mentioning, but Marvel’s new AR comics are just neat. Certain panels in each comic are AR readable, and can give you anything from commentary to sketches, to motion panels. The whole thing really adds to the comic experience. The AR reader is kind of wonky, but that is to be expected with new technology.

Best Non-Comic Film: Les Miserables. The movie was unbearably good, the singing/acting was phenomenal, and there was not a dry eye in the theater. Since this is a comic blog, I won’t write much more about it, but know that it was my second favorite movie of the year, just behind the Avengers.

Most Anticipated of 2013: More Masks, The Dark Knight Returns pt. 2, Iron Man 3, Sin City 2, The Wolverine, and R.I.P.D. Plus, I plan on going back and picking up some of Dynamite’s other series.

One comment on “Best of 2012

  1. BigBlackTom says:

    Good list. I can’t wait to check out Masks either

Leave a Reply

